Yesterdays Experience: A Tribute To YNQ (Vinyl Mix) - Mixed by BeatPete

Highly Recommended.
BeatPete - Yesterdays Experience - A Tribute To YNQ - Vinyl Mix
Yesterdays New Quintet - Joe McDuphrey, Malik Flavors, Ahmad Miller,
Monk Hughes and Otis Jackson Jr., with Madlib as producer, arranger
and engineer.
Madlib began Yesterdays New Quintet in 2000, releasing the album Angles
Without Edges in 2001. As the group progressed, a plan was developed for
each of the band members to release "solo" records and to introduce new
members and groups, many of whom performed on Madlib's Shades of Blue
(2003), his remix album for Blue Note.
An album of Stevie Wonder covers recorded during their formative period
was also released later in 2003.
Expanded beyond the original five members of YNQ, the greater collective
grew into "Yesterdays Universe."
As early as 2003, Madlib's all-inclusive approach to expanding Yesterdays
Universe was causing tensions among the original core group. Yesterdays
New Quintet announced a breakup in 2007, but by this time several new
groups had already recorded dozens of tracks under Madlib's direction:
Young Jazz Rebels, The Last Electro-Acoustic Space Jazz & Percussion
Ensemble, Sound Directions, Jahari Masamba Unit, Jackson Conti with
Ivan "Mamao" Conti from Azymuth , just to name a few. The compilation
Yesterdays Universe (2007) served to announce these new groups.
Medicine Show #7: High Jazz (2010) introduces even more.
Featuring Karriem Riggins, Ivan "Mamao" Conti, Todd Simon, and
Dan Ubick
Cover / Collage by 𝓜𝓪𝓭𝓪𝓵𝓲𝓷𝓪 𝓒𝓱𝓲𝓵𝓲𝓬𝓲

No comments: